The best drugstore nude lipsticks – Blogging March Day 4


Hi guys! So with all this Kylie Jenner lips extravaganza going on in the world, I wanted to look through my collection to see what colours I had that suited this new trend she has set off. I have done many a posts about nude lipsticks but feel that the ‘new’ nude shade is a lot darker and preferably matte as opposed to the old ‘concealer lips’ trend. Here are some of the best ones that I have found in the drugstore.  ** From left to right: Maybelline Colour Sensational (630 – velvet beige), Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate (03), Barry M (169), Bourgois Rouge Edition (04), L’Oreal Colour Riche Matte (640 – erotique)

 The Maybelline Colour Sensational range is one of my favourite of all time from the drugstore and this is one the most easiest to shades to wear from all the ones in this post. The colour is even, rich in colour and very comfortable to wear. It’s not completely matte, but I think it’s that perfect medium between being a velvet and matte finish. It looks slight different in different lights as the image above highlights but generally, this is the perfect ‘throw in my handbag’ shade!

 This Rimmel Lasting Finish shade is the lightest shade in this review. The colour is very cool based so would suit a very pale person however, I find myself reaching for this on very cold days and when I have done fairly heavy eyes. It’s a very similar finish to the Maybelline one above and has a nice texture. Is it long lasting? Not really, as I always have to reapply every few hours whether I’ve been brutal on my lips by eating and drinking or not. I like this for an everyday lip but I have to remember to take it along with me for touch ups.

 This Barry M lipstick is just adorable. The packaging is small and perfect for travel and the lipstick itself is very thick and creamy. This is very comparable to the YSL Rouge Volupte lipsticks which have a similar heavy and moisturising feel. The shade would suit anyone from the palest to dark skin tone and it’s super comfortable to wear. It also makes your lips look larger because of the semi-glossy finish which exaggerates the lips.. Perfect for that Kylie Jenner look.

 This Bourgois lipstick is the darker from the range and is almost a deep purple colour but I feel this is so wearable! It would look fantastic on darker skin tones. The bullet is slightly awkward to use as it has no definitive shape but once you hack it, this lipstick is even and super lovely to wear. I love lipsticks with a purple hue because it suits my skin tone so well so if you’ve got an olive based or darker complexion, try this.. It’s a gorgeous nude with a twist!

 I’ve saved the best until last with this lipstick and I love it so much because it’s the perfect nude without being too brown- based. I like a nude lip, but it can sometimes wash you out and I think this L’Oreal Colour Riche lipstick has the perfect amount of rosy colour without being pink. It’s also a nice take on a red, if you’re not really into a bold red lip. This also has a matte finish but it glides on, stays put all day and gives you a juicy pout!

 So, which one is your favourite? 

2 thoughts on “The best drugstore nude lipsticks – Blogging March Day 4

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

