The art of being a student!

So as some of you know, yesterday I had bought some presents and clothes for a very special someone!
What you dont know, is that I teach the Qu’ran to a ten year old! Now I’ve been doing this for.. 1 year and 4 months as she kindly notified me when we finished! However I wanted to make deal of the occasion!

20120901-204435.jpg

Reading the Qu’ran is a big thing that needs to be done at some point in a Muslims life! The earlier you start, the better (just like when learning a new language). Tania is 10 years old and started when she was 9! She’s a very good student and tries her best (most of the time) and to tell the truth, I was quite a strict teacher to her! Her mum was taught by MY mother and when Tania started reading with me, she had NO CLUE about Arabic and I think it’s fair to say.. Not a lot about Islam! From a shy and timid girl, she’s growing into a strong and confident woman! I’m so proud of her for learning the Qu’ran and coming so far because her hard efforts have now paid off!

She was getting a surprise party!!!! Me and her mum had this planned for a while! To a ten year old, I think a party is the way to show one of the most important times in a persons life! And September 1st will never be forgotten!

20120901-204405.jpg

When she finished the Qu’ran, after the last word she read, THE WHOLE FAMILY JUMPED IN THE ROOM WITH PARTY POPPERS, BALLOONS, CAKE, SILLY STRING AND GIFTS! It took a lot of planning and was very hard to keep it from her.. And the secret was sure to come out at some point but I’m so glad it didn’t! Tania didn’t suspect a thing! I know that Tania can sometimes feel that people don’t care about her and it’s hard living with a disabled brother who gets a lot of attention.. But today was JUST about her! And I’m so glad she enjoyed her party!

20120901-204348.jpg

Here’s a few pictures I took of the event, so enjoy and I hope guys like the ideas we came up with :)

20120901-204421.jpg

For the days to the build up of Tania’s Qu’ran completion, I gave her a new colour, which she would have to dress up as a new character for! The main reason was because every colour stood for a word and I would give her a list of things to remember and live life like with the word as the ‘KEY to the Kolour’ :)
•Green was for Good
•Blue was for Best
•Orange was for Or (organic, original, oral)
•Pink was for Prepare
•Yellow was for You
•Purple was today which stood for Perfect and that was for Tania! We all wrote things which we thought Tania done the best and the things we all loved Tania for. We gave her a gift related to that speciality as well.

20120901-204333.jpg

Her mother is amazing! I think an inspiration to all women and she was so grateful for everything that me and mum done for her. I think all the hard work was down to Tania because through her struggle, she learnt a language which before looked like doodles to her!

20120901-204444.jpg

It has to be said that it wasn’t easy for me! For the best part of the year, I was working where I spent 12 hours out the house and still made sure she read to me! I made sheets for her, taught her how to pray Salaah as well as many countless surahs of the Qu’ran and throughout her whole journey, she put up with me being tired and unfair on occassions. So if you’re thinking of teaching anything, remember to put your all in it! Try your best and truly teach that person like you were them.. How would you like to have been taught?

Thanks for reading guys!
Let me know of any subjects you teach and what you do to keep the lessons fresh?
What did you like best / worst about your teacher?

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

