My skin care for men/ women

I’ve developed a method with which to do my face routine at the mo which I’m LOVING!

However, it’s only recently that I was able to do this as my skin before was really difficult to work with. As I turned 20 in December, I found my skin adapt to a new lease of life that meant it was much more manageable and I was so happy! After suffering from acne for many years before and with very dry skin, I had tried everything in the market to control the large boils I would get on my skin.

I then turned 20 and just before, I gave my skin room to breathe and rather than piling on the make up, I was more keen on not wearing make up when unnecessary and this proved to work. I know it’s hard when your skin looks awful and the lack of foundation highlights this so I only stopped wearing it when I wasn’t at work or in public! I also began washing off my makeup as soon as I was home, rather then waiting until bedtime which I think, was the main contribution. After having dry and flaky skin, it evened out and although I still have pigmentation from previous outbreaks, they are fading slowly.

My new regime:

  • Ensuring I exfoliate more as having naturally dry skin means a lot of build up of dead skin on the face (sounds gross I know), but that was also why my make up always looked strange on my face and never even! I use the Garnier Exfo Brusher (around £7.99 from Superdrug/ Boots) for my face wash which I use every morning and on the days I wash my hair.. Why? Because when you wash your hair and the shampoo goes on your face, that needs to be removed with your wash as I noticed spots forming on my forehead when I never done this. (There are two types of the face wash with another one for minimising pores that I find is extremely drying for my so would probably be good for an oily skin)
  • Ensure you’re using a face mask! Because I have naturally dry skin, I use a clay mask and I’m pulling anything away from my skin like the peel masks would. Exfoliating my skin is enough for that! I use Good Things 5 minute face mask (less than £5.99 in Superdrug/ Boots) which is specially designed for teenage skin. Although it claims to support oily skin (which I get in my T-Zone), I find it beautifully evens out my skin and leaves it glowing! As an added trick, I use the Body Shop face brush (£3) to get the mask off as I find it takes out any dead skin cells too
  • I also ensure that as soon as I get out of the shower, I touch nothing and apply my face cream straight away! I’m using Monu Revitalising moisturiser which I originally got in a GlossyBox, but I loved it so much that I repurchased it (pricier at £16- just type in google shopping for the cheapest). Although it is more than I would usually pay for something like a moisturiser, it’s amazing! It sinks into the skin and your makeup adheres better to the skin too
  • This has actually changed my Skin type and rather than having excessively dry and sensitive skin, I now have normal skin with a slight oily t-zone. I HARDLY ever get spots and I feel generally that I don’t need foundation.

    Some hints:

  • Don’t come out of the shower and start touching things with your clean hands. Ensure your hands are clean when you put your moisturiser on. When you get out of the shower, your pores are open and warm and collect anything in the air or coming in contact with them, leaving you with lots of bacteria on your skin! So don’t worry! Check your phone after you’ve applied your face cream cause even that harbours lots of dirt
  • Drink liquids! Not just water as even drinking juice has water in it! If you enjoy water then of course do so but keep your skin hydrated! I now keep a bottle of something in my bag at all times which I find myself drinking up constantly! It makes you feel refreshed and livens up your skin by boosting your water levels. Avoid sugar and dairy products as doing that also left my skin much clearer
  • Take your make up off before you go to bed.. Need I say more???
  • POP YOUR SPOTS! If you have a zit, then you have to get rid of it cause it will just increase and look more and more awful! If your skin scars easily and you don’t like the mark that a popped zit leaves.. Get over it! Im sure you’d much rather have a blemish and say you scratched yourself then have a spot and tell everyone you’re on your period :)
  • I hope this helps! I know that not many men will read this but I have Mr. A doing the same thing and his skin looks beautiful now! He’s a real athlete and he sweats a lot but this routine has helped his skin clear up a lot, I feel!

    Remember.. Rather than masking your imperfections with lashings of make up, resolve the root of the problem (your skin), and watch how your confidence within yourself will increase!

    Good things face mask

    Garnier Exfo Brush

    Monu Revitalising Moisturiser

    2 thoughts on “My skin care for men/ women

    Add yours

    1. Excellent blog post, I enjoyed reading through it. I actually do now have one problem which you may be able
      to help me with. I have problems with cystic acne and I
      have extremely sensitive skin and i’m also very vulnerable to the sun, consequently my skin is constantly drying out. What might you advise to help?

      1. SPF! the most important thing is you protect your skin from the sun so ensure you use a cream which is ONLY spf and use a factor 50. For very dry skin i would recommend a cream like La Roche Posay Rosiliac Cream which would not only help to ease the redness of your acne but is quite a rich formula and i use this on my occasional dry skin and find it hydrates my skin ALL DAY.. Perfect. Avene are also fantastic for sensitive and dry skin so definitely check them out! http://www.feel unique.com, http://www.very.com, http://www.boots.com sell these products.. I think so let me know how it goes :)

    Leave a Reply

        Powered by WordPress.com.

    Up ↑

